Salons d'artistes

Salons d'artistes

Introduction

Initiated by the jury and the organizing partners of Swiss Dance Days 2019, the Salons d’artistes provides eight choreographers with the opportunity to present their up-coming projects to international programmers. Each artist will be accompanied by a member of the jury or artistic director who has followed the evolution of their work.

 

This year the Salons d’artistes will take place in the studios of the Manufacture, an institution of higher learning dedicated to the performing arts. Since 2014 the school has offered a bachelor’s degree program in contemporary dance and has quickly become an esteemed centre for research and experimentation. The excellence of its diverse areas of study is stimulating the emergence of a new generation of dancers and creators.

 

Salons d'artistes 1
Thursday, 7.2.2019 9h—13h

 

Maud Blandel
Marie-Caroline Hominal

Cie Linga
Jeremy Nedd

 

Salons d'artistes 2
Friday, 8.2.2019 9h—13h

 

Ruth Childs
Lorena Dozio
Edouard Hue
Emma Murray

 

Open for programmers only
Registration required

La Manufacture –
Haute école des arts de la scène Rue du Grand-Pré 5
1000 Lausanne-Malley

Maud Blandel

Maud Blandel has been developing for the last three years a choreographic research at the crossroads of artistic fields. Her two first creations, «Touch Down» (2016) and «Lignes de conduite» (2018), focus on mythic-cultural practices in order to observe their phenomenon of spectacularisation. Concerned about the expansed notion of choreography, she develops different laboratories (with the students of the National School of photography in Arles, and with the Ensemble of Contemporary Music in Geneva) and various collaborations – with the Swiss director Karim Bel Kacem or, more recently, with the German composer Heiner Goebbels.

 

Accompanied by Patrick de Rham

Marie-Caroline Hominal

Marie-Caroline Hominal is a dancer, performer and choreographer. After receiving her training at the Swiss Ballet School and the Rambert School in London, she collaborated with artists such as Gisèle Vienne, Gilles Jobin, La Ribot and Marco Berrettini. She has developed her own work, exploring different mediums, formats and modalities of encounter with the audience; her artistic practice includes text, music, performance and video. Her piece «Taxi Dancer» (2016) touches on male-female relationships and the role of power play in human relationships. With «Hominal/Öhrn», first of the series Hominal/XXX, she began questioning the notion of «the author».

 

www.madmoisellemch.com

 

Accompanied by Vincent Baudriller

Cie Linga

Compagnie Linga was founded in 1992 by Katarzyna Gdaniec et Marco Cantalupo. They have been associated artists at L’Octogone theatre in Pully since 1993 and create one to two productions a year. They bring to the stage physical dance that is at once sensual and powerful and explores the influence different political and social situations have on the body. They have been invited to perform in many illustrious international venues and contexts and have received numerous awards. Notably, the Cultural Prize for young creators in dance (2001), the Cultural Grand Prix (2012) from the Fondation Vaudoise, as well as the Danzatalenti Prize (2015).

 

www.linga.ch

 

Accompanied by Yasmine Char

Jeremy Nedd

Born in New York, Jeremy Nedd is a performer, choreographer and sound designer. After his studies he worked with different artists in New York and received a Bessie Award for his work in «Radio Show», by Kyle Abraham. From 2010 to 2012 he danced at the Dresden Semperoper and from 2012 to 2016 with the Ballett Basel. In his work he explores different aesthetic worlds in order to deconstruct their codified vocabulary. His last pieces «How to save a phoney from becoming a fraud» (2016) and «Communal Solo» (2018) were coproduced by the Roxy Birsfelden. In 2017 he received a research grant from Atelier Mondial and in 2018 he was nominated for the Swiss Performance Art Award.

 

www.jeremynedd.com

 

Accompanied by Catja Loepfe

Ruth Childs

Dancer, performer and choreographer Ruth Childs grew up and studied in the United States before joining the Ballet Junior de Genève in 2003. Since then she has worked with a diverse array of choreographers, such as Foofwa d’Imobilité, La Ribot, Gilles Jobin, Yasmine Hugonnet and Marco Berrettini. Since 2015 she has been presenting a project of recreation in which she restages a selection of early works created by her aunt, choreographer Lucinda Childs. In 2018 she created her first scenic work «The Goldfish and the Inner Tube» in collaboration with Stéphane Vecchione.

 

tutuproduction.ch/Ruth_Childs

 

Accompanied by Patrick de Rham

Lorena Dozio

Born in Ticino, Lorena Dozio studied performing arts at the University of Bologna before joining the Master’s program «Essays» at the National Choreographic Centre in Angers. Since 2008 she has co-created duets with dancer Fernando Cabral. In 2012 she founded the Association Crile with composers Carlo Ciceri and Daniel Zea in Lugano. She questions the notion of the invisible with pieces such as «Levante» (2013) and «Alibi» (2014). The piece «Otholites» (2016) received support from Reso’s Programmer Fund, while «Dazzle» (2017) was supported by both the canton of Ticino and Pro Helvetia. Since 2016, she’s been an associated artist at LAC-LuganoInScena as part of the project YAA ! supported by Pro Helvetia.

 

www.lorenadozio.com

 

Accompanied by Stefano Tomassini

Édouard Hue

After his training at the Ballet Junior in Geneva, Édouard Hue danced for the Hofesh Shechter Company and Olivier Dubois. He created the Franco-Swiss company – The Beaver Dam Company – in 2014. He approaches the body as a vehicle for translating emotions and seeks out extreme qualities of movement in his work. Recipient of numerous awards and other forms of support, pieces such as «Murky Depths» (2014) and «Meet Me Halfway» (2017) have toured internationally. In residence at the Auditorium Seynod, he cofounded the FDAM (Festival for Dance and Movement Art) with the Mikado – MJC Centre Social. With his solo «Forward» (2018) he participated in the program Dance and Dramaturgy at the Théâtre Sévelin 36.

 

www.beaverdamco.com

 

Accompanied by Philippe Saire

Emma Murray

Performer and choreographer Emma Murray was a soloist with the Royal New Zealand Ballet before dancing with the Konzert Theater in Bern. From 2013 to 2015 she was an associated artist with the Dampfzentrale Bern, which regularly coproduces her work, as well as a Young Associated Artist with Pro Helvetia. Through a practice that is both physical and performative, her work meticulously dissects disparate interests, exploiting text or language to contextualize movement in performance. Because of  the choreography’s constant mutation - in pieces like «This is the Beginning (2012)», «The Way You Look Tonight (2014)» or «Mother*Fuckers (2017)»  - the audience's experience is manifold.

 

www.emmamurray.ch

 

Accompanied by Anneli Binder

Salons d'artistes

Salons d'artistes

Introduction

Proposés par les jurés et les partenaires organisateurs des Swiss Dance Days 2019, huit chorégraphes ont l’opportunité de présenter aux programmatrices et programmateurs internationaux leurs futurs projets. Les artistes sont accompagnés dans leur présentation par un membre du jury ou un directeur artistique ayant suivi leur travail de près.

 

Les Salons d’artistes se déroulent cette année dans les studios de La Manufacture - Haute école des arts de la scène. L’école, qui propose depuis 2014 un Bachelor en Danse Contemporaine, est un lieu important de recherche et d’expérimentation. A travers les différentes filières d’études proposées, c’est une nouvelle génération d’artistes, de danseurs créateurs qui y sont formés.

 

Salons d'artistes 1
Jeudi, 7.2.2019 9h—13h

 

Maud Blandel
Marie-Caroline Hominal

Cie Linga
Jeremy Nedd

 

Salons d'artistes 2
Vendredi, 8.2.2019 9h—13h

 

Ruth Childs
Lorena Dozio
Edouard Hue
Emma Murray

 

Ouvert aux programmateurs
Sur inscription


 

La Manufacture –
Haute école des arts de la scène Rue du Grand-Pré 5
1000 Lausanne-Malley

Maud Blandel

Maud Blandel développe depuis 3 ans une pratique chorégraphique à la croisée de champs artistiques. Ses deux premières créations, « Touch Down » (2016) et « Lignes de conduite » (2018) s’attachent à l’étude de dispositifs mythico-culturels afin d’observer les phénomènes de spectacularisation. Préoccupée par la notion élargie de chorégraphie, elle développe parallèlement différents laboratoires (avec les étudiants de l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure de la photographie d’Arles, ou encore l’Ensemble de musique contemporaine de Genève) et diverses collaborations – avec le metteur en scène Karim Bel Kacem ou, plus récemment, le compositeur Heiner Goebbels. 

 

Accompagnée par Patrick de Rham

Marie-Caroline Hominal

Marie-Caroline Hominal est danseuse, performeuse et chorégraphe. Formée à la Schweizerische Ballettberufsschule et à la Rambert School (Londres), elle a dansé pour Gisèle Vienne, Gilles Jobin, La Ribot et Marco Berrettini. Elle développe un travail personnel, explorant médiums, formats et modalités de rencontre avec le spectateur ; sa pratique artistique inclut texte, musique, danse, performance et vidéo. Sa pièce « Taxi Dancer » (2016) touche aux relations hommes-femmes et aux jeux de pouvoir dans les rapports humains. Avec « Hominal/Öhrn » (2018), première de la série Hominal/XXX, son questionnement se porte aujourd’hui sur la notion d’auteur.

 

www.madmoisellemch.com

 

Accompagnée par Vincent Baudriller

Cie Linga

La Compagnie Linga est fondée en 1992 par Katarzyna Gdaniec et Marco Cantalupo. Artiste associé à l’Octogone - Théâtre de Pully depuis 1993, elle crée un à deux spectacles par an, mettant en scène une danse physique sensuelle et puissante qui interroge l’influence des situations politiques et sociales sur les corps. Invitée dans les plus importantes manifestations de la scène internationale, elle a notamment reçu le Prix Jeunes Créateurs Danse de la Fondation Vaudoise pour la promotion et la création artistique (2001), le Grand Prix de la Fondation Vaudoise pour la Culture (2012) et le Prix Danzatalenti (2015).

 

www.linga.ch

 

Accompagnée par Yasmine Char

Jeremy Nedd

Né à New York, Jeremy Nedd est interprète, chorégraphe et concepteur sonore. Après ses études, il travaille avec divers artistes de la scène de danse new-yorkaise, notamment Kyle Abraham, dont la pièce « The Radio Show » lui permet de recevoir un Bessie Award. De 2010 à 2012, il danse pour le Dresden Semperoper et de 2012 à 2016 pour le Ballett Basel. Dans ses créations, il explore différents univers esthétiques dont il déconstruit le vocabulaire codifié. Ses dernières pièces «  How To Save A Phoney From Becoming A Fraud » (2016) et « Communal Solo » (2018) sont coproduit avec le Roxy Birsfelden. En 2017, il reçoit la bourse Atelier Mondial et en 2018 il est nominé pour le Prix Suisse de la Performance.

 

www.jeremynedd.com

 

Accompagné par Catja Loepfe

Ruth Childs

Danseuse, performeuse et chorégraphe, Ruth Childs s’est notamment formée aux Etats-Unis. En 2003, elle intègre le Ballet Junior de Genève et travaille pour des chorégraphes aussi différents que Foofwa d’Imobilité, La Ribot, Gilles Jobin, Yasmine Hugonnet ou Marco Berrettini. Depuis 2015, elle réalise un projet de recréation des pièces de jeunesse (early works) de sa tante, la chorégraphe Lucinda Childs. En 2018, elle crée sa première pièce scénique « The Goldfish And The Inner Tube » en collaboration avec Stéphane Vecchione.

 

tutuproduction.ch/Ruth_Childs

 

Accompagnée par Patrick de Rham

Lorena Dozio

Née au Tessin, Lorena Dozio étudie les arts performatifs à l’Université de Bologne avant d’intégrer la formation Essais au CNDC d’Angers. Dès 2008, elle a co-créé des duos  avec le danseur Fernando Cabral. Avec les compositeurs Carlo Ciceri et Daniel Zea, elle fonde à Lugano en 2012 l’Association Crile. Le questionnement sur l’invisible est au cœur de ses projets comme « Levante » (2013) et « Alibi » (2014). « Otholites » (2016) a bénéficié du Fonds des programmateurs de Reso. « Dazzle » (2017) a reçu le soutien du canton du Tessin et de Pro Helvetia. Depuis 2016, elle est artiste associée au LAC-LuganoInScena dans le cadre du projet YAA ! soutenu par Pro Helvetia.

 

www.lorenadozio.com

 

Accompagnée par Stefano Tomassini

Édouard Hue

Formé au Ballet Junior de Genève, puis danseur pour la Hofesh Shechter Company et Olivier Dubois, Édouard Hue crée la compagnie franco-suisse Beaver Dam Company en 2014. Son travail porte sur le corps comme traducteur d’émotions et sur la recherche d’une qualité extrême de mouvement. Au bénéfice de nombreux prix et soutiens, ses pièces « Murky Depths » (2014) et « Meet Me Halfway » (2017) tournent à l’international. Résident triennal à l’Auditorium Seynod, il cofonde en 2017 le FDAM - Festival de Danse et d’Art en Mouvement avec Le Mikado – MJC Centre Social. Son solo « Forward » (2018) intègre le Programme Danse & Dramaturgie du Théâtre Sévelin 36.

 

www.beaverdamco.com

 

Accompagné par Philippe Saire

Emma Murray

Performeuse et chorégraphe, Emma Murray est soliste pour le Royal New Zealand Ballet puis danse pour le Konzert Theater Bern. Artiste associée à la Dampfzentrale Bern (2013-2015), où son travail est régulièrement coproduit, elle fait partie depuis 2017 du programme Young Associated Artist de Pro Helvetia. Usant d'une pratique à la fois physique et performative, son travail dissèque minutieusement différentes thématiques, exploitant le texte ou le langage pour contextualiser le mouvement dans la performance. Avec « This Is The Beginning » (2012), « The Way You Look Tonight (2014) » (2014) et « Mother*Fuckers » (2017), le public vit une expérience plurielle grâce à des chorégraphies en constante mutation.

 

www.emmamurray.ch

 

Accompagnée par Anneli Binder